A Word on Blogging and a Hopeful Return


I see this morning that it has been 89 days since my last entry that was published during an unsustainable flurry of forced writing intended to support Charlie Crist’s ill-fated run for governor. My heart wasn’t really into writing – about anything. Wring requires passion, and there are a lot of things I’m passionate about, too.

The real halt to my writing occurred at the beginning of August 2014.  An easy excuse is that the school year began and I was immersed in our football team. Yeah, but I’ve pushed through that before.

It was something else.

Events, coupled with disillusionment and disappointment, kept my keyboard inactive.

It shouldn’t have been enough, though. And it likely wasn’t the only reason. I have my own frailties and flaws and they will always be there, yet writing has become part of who I am. I’m not myself when I’m not writing and I pray that I am able write on my last day on this Earth.

This blog won’t be going along as it has. Too many things are different now – those aforementioned events and disillusionments. But my core beliefs remain the same and are best exemplified by the banner you sees above which states the following:

Color me purple in Florida, red in Washington, dark sky-blue in Israel and public school in Education

My banner was created in March of 2011 when this blog launched. Content previous to this period is also published here which dates to  July 2010. It is this content which establishes my street cred as one who identifies as a republican in national politics and an unyielding supporter of Israel.  The new Scathing Purple Musings content focused on public school policy. My support for public schools and its teachers will continue to be unyielding, but Scathing Purple Musings may be venturing into “red in Washington and dark sky Blue in Israel.”

A blogger I know used to establish categories presented in all caps in post titles. Scathing Purple Musings will continue to be published in this fashion.

 

 

About Bob Sikes

A long time ago and a planet far, far away I was an athletic trainer for the New York Mets. I was blessed to be part of the now legendary 1986 World Series Championship. My late father told me that I'd one day be thankful I had that degree in teaching from Florida State University. He was right and I became twice blesses to become a teacher in the late 1990's. After dabbling with writing about the Mets and then politics, I settled on education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Word on Blogging and a Hopeful Return

  1. Dave Galloway says:

    I’m just glad you’re back at your keyboard . . . and publishing . . .

  2. Sandra says:

    On standby Bob….whenever you decide to return, I will read. Thank you for all you have done to keep Floridians informed.

  3. GatorBonBC says:

    Fire is catching. Yours burns bright. Onward.

Leave a Reply

