Trump Continues to Deny Knowing Disabled Reporter He Mocked This Week


And in a way only he can. From Tweets at his Sarasota appearance from Tampa Bay Times political editor Adam Smith:

Trump on disabled reporter, Kovaleski: “I wld never mock mock” a person w disability

“i don’t mock ppl that have problems.”–Trump

Trump scoffs: “Never use the term handicap parking. Use ‘Accessible Parking’ even though ppl have handicapped permits”

Reporting for The Hill, Bradford Richardson writes:

Republican presidential front-runner Donald Trump is disputing the allegation that he mocked the disability of New York Times reporter Serge Kovaleski.

“I would never mock a person that has difficulty, I would never do that, I’m telling you, I would never do that, I would never do that,” Trump told supporters at a rally in Saratoga, Fla., on Saturday.

“I would never do it. I don’t care if I liked the person or didn’t, and I don’t know this person,” he added.

The billionaire business mogul said he was trying to pantomime a reporter “groveling” when he flailed his arms around on stage at a rally in South Carolina last week.

Perhaps Trump feels as if the Mark Simone’s and Ann Coulter’s of the world will offer cover and that playing the “liberal media” card is going to be enough to plow through this. Or that someone will start playing Joe Biden’s greatest hits that will get run on conservative radio talk shows this week and that Biden or any other democrat pol for that matter, ever has to apologize.

Well, maybe. But none of them ever doubled downed for days on what’s at best, an untimely sophomoric gesture. Most of us would have felt embarrassed and apologized. But not Trump.

About Bob Sikes

A long time ago and a planet far, far away I was an athletic trainer for the New York Mets. I was blessed to be part of the now legendary 1986 World Series Championship. My late father told me that I'd one day be thankful I had that degree in teaching from Florida State University. He was right and I became twice blesses to become a teacher in the late 1990's. After dabbling with writing about the Mets and then politics, I settled on education.
This entry was posted in 2016 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

