OK, Sarah Palin, We’ll Have it Your Way: I’m Against You


In so many ways, I understand Sarah Palin’s loyal alliance with Donald Trump. He correctly defended her in way that Trump excels. An example came in an interview he did some years ago with Don Imus when he defended Palin thus:

“The media are just dishonest.”

Indeed.

Palin never really asked for all of this. She probably would have been just fine if she had gone back to that commercial fishing business with husband Todd after leaving the Alaska governor’s mansion. Instead, Weekly Standard editor Bill Kristol opened his mouth on a Sunday talk show in 2008 and christened her a rising republican star and potential running mate for whomever won the nomination.

And her we are.

I remain an admirer, but alas cherie, we must part. Reports Nakita Vladimoriv for TheHill:

Sarah Palin on Friday slammed Republicans who are opposing Donald Trump, warning them “you are either with us or against us.”

“Those GOPers who insist they will never vote for their party’s choice this time, they call themselves Never Trump or whatever. I just call them Republicans against Trump, or RAT for short,” she said at the Western Conservative Summit in Denver

“Now, I shouldn’t call them thumbsuckers, because they are not all bad,” she continued. “I’m kidding. They are, and Hillary [Clinton] thanks them because she cannot win without them.”

Hey, I suck my thumb-when I eat chicken wings.

I guess that Palin has bought into Trump Nation’s current strategy for republicans who refuse to drink the Trump Kool-Aid:

The beatings will continue until moral improves

Sorry, Sarah. I don’t remember you conforming when you were getting fired on by your own troops.

And why didn’t your guy take the opportunity to mend fences in Colorado while you were there? The LA Times Melanie Mason reports on the same event and noted that top Trump critics Sen. Ben Sasse and Red State editor Erik Erikson were in attendance. Yet Trump chose otherwise:

By dwelling on the rancor of the primaries, Trump also underscored just how difficult it will be to soothe GOP discord.

“They were really nasty to me. And I was really nasty to them,” Trump said of his Republican primary rivals.

In many way, Palin couldnt be a worse surrogate for Ttump as she shares his bitterness to former opponents. But this is what Republicans have facing them: an angry runaway Trump Train, fueled by hate for its own side.

The Trump Train needs to be derailed in Cleveland.

 

 

About Bob Sikes

A long time ago and a planet far, far away I was an athletic trainer for the New York Mets. I was blessed to be part of the now legendary 1986 World Series Championship. My late father told me that I'd one day be thankful I had that degree in teaching from Florida State University. He was right and I became twice blesses to become a teacher in the late 1990's. After dabbling with writing about the Mets and then politics, I settled on education.
This entry was posted in Trump and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

