REPORT: Jailed Turkish Journalist Derya Okatan in Hunger Strike


From the Tesujin Gazzette:

deryaISTANBUL – Detained six journalists will be kept in custody until January 24. The journalists, who were allowed to see their lawyers, sent a message and said, “Buckle down more to report”.

The closed Dicle News Agency (DİHA) News Director Ömer Çelik, DİHA reporter Metin Yoksu,  former Diken editor Tunca Öğreten, Birgün worker Mahir Kanat, Etkin News Agency (ETHA) Managing Editor Derya Okatan, Yolculuk Newspaper Editor in Chief Eray Saygın were detained five days ago. A confidentiality order has been imposed on the case. The journalists’ lawyers saw their clients after five days. The lawyers stated that the journalists were detained allegedly “being members of an [illegal] organization”. The lawyers said that the journalists kept their morale high and sent their greetings to their journalist colleagues outside. The journalists also sent a message to their colleagues and said “Buckle down more to report”.

The closed Dicle News Agency (DİHA) News Director Ömer Çelik told his lawyers that, “We are the people who are doing journalism. They keep us in custody unjustly by criminalizing us over Redhack. We don’t even know we are accused of what. I am sending my greetings to all friends, they should continue to write. I keep my morale high.”

About Bob Sikes

A long time ago and a planet far, far away I was an athletic trainer for the New York Mets. I was blessed to be part of the now legendary 1986 World Series Championship. My late father told me that I'd one day be thankful I had that degree in teaching from Florida State University. He was right and I became twice blesses to become a teacher in the late 1990's. After dabbling with writing about the Mets and then politics, I settled on education.
This entry was posted in Turkey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

